GR-55 response slows down with USB connected to MAC (Logic)

Started by DrDwards, January 09, 2013, 02:32:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DrDwards

Help Please!

I'm relatively new to this technology and recently I got a GR-55. Love it, but I'm having problems getting it to work with Logic Pro 9. As soon as I connect it to my Mac (spec below) the performance of the GR-55 gets seriously bad. It starts holding on to notes that I'm no longer playing, sounding other notes and there are serious latency issues as well. As soon as I disconnect the USB cable or close Logic the problem disappears and the GR-55 functions perfectly. I think the pick-up set up is good as it works perfectly when not connected via USB.

Essentially what I'm trying to do is to record audio via the USB output but I also want to be able to record MIDI – not necessarily at the same time but that would be nice, however, I'm nowhere near that yet as the GR-55 simply isn't working when connected via USB.

I have tried this with the setting for "Direct Monitor" in GR-55 set to "On" and "Off" but it's the same whether I'm listening to the sound coming back from Logic or the original sound generated by the GR-55.

The guys at the apple store reckon that although my MAC is an older one it should be up to coping with what I'm trying to do.

I've read so much on this in various forums prior to this post but I just can't figure it out. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

System details:
Running OS X 10.6.8
Logic Pro 9.1.8 (32 Bit)

Hardware Overview:

Model Name:   iMac
  Model Identifier:   iMac8,1
  Processor Name:   Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed:   3.06 GHz
  Number Of Processors:   1
  Total Number Of Cores:   2
  L2 Cache:   6 MB
  Memory:   4 GB
  Bus Speed:   1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version:   IM81.00C1.B00

Elantric