IOS: The Idiot Savant Operating System

Started by Rhcole, June 25, 2016, 01:33:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rhcole

You only get one chance to have a first impression of something.
Having purchased an iPad Pro 9.7 and now used it for about a month, I have to say I am mostly blown away: all the synth apps I can eat, effortless FTP integration, recording, generative apps, smooth and fast performance, it's totally incredible. Low latency synths for $10, are you kidding me? I navigated the hurdles of MIDI transfer, Audiobus, etc. without any great efforts.

But this lack of file sharing leaves me speechless, my jaw flapping and no sound coming out. I make a wav file in app A and I have to connect to my computer to get app B to find it using iTunes? Really?

Is there any trick, any kind of workaround, any app to bypass this? I'm still a newbie, so there is the outside chance I just don't know how to do it right.

But just like Microsoft has its dark side that is getting baked in deeper to each revision of their OS, so does... well everybody. Except for Linux, it seems like all modern OS's are designed to shunt your eyeballs and wallets to the next movie they want you to rent, the next song they want you to buy. You buy the TV set, you are paying to see the commercials, so to speak.

I can forgive no cursor and no mouse. After all, IOS started as an app for a phone. But no file system...?

johnnyninja

Much depends on what features each app provides regarding backup, archive, and "open in". I use a few options depending on my situation.

1) Use an app like filebrowser to save to/ open from.
2) use a wireless drive that will connect to the ipad. You still need an app for this but it's good for large files.
3) Dropbox, iCloud or any other cloud service that your apps connect to.

I do 95% of my computing on my iPad and don't use iTunes at all so it's possible to this. Granted, a bit of a pain figuring out your workflows in the beginning.

chrish