vg-99 or gr-55?

Started by tonyknight, July 07, 2011, 09:46:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tonyknight

Hi, I'm new here and worse, the last synths I really played were ARPs and early Moogs. OK, not quite totally true, but... I'm thinking (again) of buying a guitar synth, and although I've searched a lot on the choice between these two units, I'm still baffled. Basically, I enjoy composing and recording layers of music combining new-agey science-fiction type sounds with many others including acoustic guitar and Tool-style metal. I'm an accomplished guitarist and will either use a GK-3 on a Tele or my ES-335. In the past I've struggled with hardware synths to create background pads, but my capabilities are far superior on the guitar, hence the interest.

I'd appreciate any thoughts you might be able to offer between these two roland units...
Peace,
Tony

Brent Flash

Welcome to the group tonyknight!  :)
You really do not want to compare the VG with the GR. Apples and oranges.

Elantric

If you are primarily recording at home, and want the largest sonic palette of traditional non guitar instruments, and do not mind making overdubs or recording at half speed due to occasional glitches - get the GR-55

If you are a perfectionist and want zero tracking problems, and want to perform live ( with no glitches) - get the VG-99.

But there really is no comparison between the two - they serve different markets and price points.
I would also say most former VG-99 users who have migrated to a GR-55 and are "happy"  - probably never fully explored all they had in the VG-99.

Brent Flash

Quote from: tonyknight on July 07, 2011, 09:46:19 AM
I'd appreciate any thoughts you might be able to offer between these two roland units...
Here is my opinion without writing a book.