GR-55 - Holdsworth patch?

Started by Jazzy, April 07, 2012, 12:02:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jazzy

Does anyone have an Allan Holdsworth patch or ideas for how to create one?   I am working on it but don't have anything I'd consider worth posting yet.  I am new in these parts but there seems to be a lack of fusion guitar patches (Stern, Scofield, McLaughlin, Henderson, etc) in the GR-55 section.  It would be great if someone could remedy that.

Thanks in anticipation.

germanicus

The vg99 does this a little better because of the inclusion of the 'Bowed' HRM, but this isnt half bad either.

My albums done with modeling/guitar synth at http://music.steamtheory.com

JTV69/59P/Godin LGXT/Multiac ACS/Variax 700 AC
Helix/FTP/GP10/VG99/SY1000
Traynor k4

aliensporebomb

Are you talking about a distorted lead sound, or a clean rhythm sound or what.  I posted a "Hall of Mirrors" patch on the VG-99 side since it sounded reminiscent of the clean guitar sound on "Hall of Mirrors" from "Hard Hat Area".  But AH has had many sounds over the years so knowing what sound you are looking for would help.
My music projects online at http://www.aliensporebomb.com/

GK Devices:  Roland VG-99, Boss GP-10, Boss SY-1000.

Jazzy

Thanks for the replies, and the patch.   I can't wait to try it.   

I did see the "Hall of Mirrors" patch but I wanted one that I could use on the GR-55.   Also I was thinking of his distorted lead tone.   If you really want to get specific then I really like the sounds he gets on his early recordings with Bruford and UK (eg the solo on "In the Dead of Night").   

aliensporebomb