Using a GT6 Expression Function

Started by Gluteous, October 05, 2009, 01:12:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gluteous

Hi folks - just got a VG-99, long term Roland/Boss user.

Quick question, sorry if this is basic (I am new to midi) - wonder if anyone has set up their VG-99 to be controlled by a GT6?  I am trying and can get the patch switching to work but not the expression pedal - it looks like the exp pedal assignment in the VG-99 is for an external exp pedal (plugged into the back of the unit) or alternatively the FC300 exp pedal functions are only for the FC300 - I think.

Can anyone help?  Love the unit, love the sounds - would like to get the controller right without having to buy another controller footswitch - hope you can help.

Brent Flash

Welcome to the group Gluteous!  :)

Sorry it took so long to get you a response to your question.

If you can find out what CC# (Continuous Controller number) your GT6 is sending out MIDI all you have to do is assign what you want to control with it to that CC# in the VG-99. Let us know if you need more info.

Gluteous

Thanks Brent,

I feel pretty stupid for asking but as I said I am pretty new to this.

I could find no reference in the GT6 manual for the CC#'s other than what I think are the wrong numbers in the 'Using MIDI' chapter.  The reason I say wrong is because I contacted Roland and they told me another number different than what was made reference to in the manual. 

Using the information on page 84 of the I managed to get it to work - woo hoo!

Now I have contacted them again, to try and establish what are the CC numbers for the ctl switch and the expression pedal sw.  Will need to try and set up the wah function now.  Do you know what these numbers are for the GT6 by any chance?

Again apologies, I am new to this and the manual for the VG-99 is great in some areas and completely confusing in others (in particular for the completely inept).