GR floorboard editor coding questions

Started by general failure, October 23, 2017, 08:20:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

general failure

Hi,

I was curious for the source code  of the Floorboard app, so for the purpose of education I pulled the code. I'm an experienced programmer, but mainly on the windows platform, a QT solution never crossed my path, so a great opportunity to learn.

I made some notes that might be handy for other aspirant users (add them to the readme.txt?)
On my 64bit system t didn't have any 32 bit dev platform installed anymore, and the QT error messages didn't make it clear to me, but as the WinMM.dll is 32bits, the whole application has to be built 32bits. So before installing QT (or running the QT maintenance) be sure to have a 32 bit dotnet platform installed. You might have to search in the maintainer in the list of lower version of the QT flavours, like msvc2013-32 is found only in version 5.8.

The winMM.dll is added to the source code in git, but it is not added to the project. You have to do that manual:
AddeExternal Library, With the upper browse button point to your sourcecode version of \windows\WinMM.Lib'
Note that the upper edtibox holds the full path to the lib and the next one only the path to it.
Link dynamic. If you do not plan to build Linux or Mac binaries then uncheck those.
the supplied library has no debug version so don't check the debug/release subfolders, and no need for "d" suffix
in the prj file: in line 64 and 67: correct the path to your source code
in line 153: remove the attached d (-lWinMMd)
   else:win32:CONFIG(debug, debug|release): LIBS += -L$$PWD/windows/ -lWinMM

Then a code error:
    D:\projects.svn\grfloorboard-code\customMultiComboBox.cpp:346: error: C4716: 'customMultiComboBox::getMPTitems' : must return a value
Fortunately gumtownbassman already commented the solution out... :-) 

After this the code compiled and I could run the application.

Now my question, mainly to Mr gumtown: