fretless guitar

Started by Brak(E)man, February 22, 2013, 09:42:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brak(E)man

I have been playing fretless guitar since 1977
and fretless VG guitar since about -98
before that some midi

How many here on this forum have tried fretless guitar in any form ?
swimming with a hole in my body

I play Country music too, I'm just not sure which country it's from...

"The only thing worse than a guitar is a guitarist!"
- Lydia Lunch

thebrushwithin

One of my favorite guitars is a Godin fretless nylon, with a 13 pin built in. It is so much fun, and it really surprised me that the potential problems with chordal play, were not as bad as I thought. It is my first experience with fretless, and I think I bought it in 2005, but not sure about the date. I have used it with fretless bass patches on GR and VG units for recording. Lately, I've been working with the VG 99 making an Oud patch on one channel, and a sitar on the other. Great potential!

Brak(E)man

Great man one more unfretted person here at least.
here's a piece with a solo on fretless vg 88 guitar.
and if you need help , if I can I'll assist in any way.

- Lydia Lunch

MCK

Here is my de-fretted RR Strat. I installed a Sustainiac in it which works great with the fret less guitar to create strings instrument sounds. Lots of fun. Oh chords... I'm hopeless in regular tuning so I use open tunings like open G and then I can at least get some chords. Slide over fret less work great for me as well.

Brak(E)man

nice man
I've used fernades sustainer on almost all my guitars
fretted and fretless but I'm thinking about installing sustainac
on the next one since it seems more powerful , versatile and sturdy
than fernades sustainer , I don't know how many I've had to change :)
and going to have one on my acoustic doubleneck
have you tried halfround strings on the fretless ?

- Lydia Lunch

thebrushwithin

I have both Sustainiac and Fernandes, and I do prefer the Sustainiac. Nice clip!