I now own the Motion Dive .Tokyo Performance Package

Started by Slackjaw, May 03, 2008, 06:09:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Slackjaw

First impression is that it seems very stable on Vista.  The controller is a decent build and comes with an adequate thick padded case.  It is quite simple to work with and quickly becomes familiar.  My 5 year old put on a show for me last night on the 108" screen in our playroom.  It comes with a lot of ok clips but I purchased a couple of pro loop sets from Livid and it really comes alive!  Setting the VLink to what reactions you want assigned to your actions is very simple from the VG-99.

As far as the software goes, I think it is very decent.  I did trials on several packages listed in another thread.  I like MDT's approach and simplicity.  I suppose if I was a professional VJ I guess I could want more fine details.  But I'm not and it's secondary to the main point of playing an instrument.  Frankly, I really don't know what else I would want.  Maybe if I saw a better package I might know the difference but at this point I don't care.  For $299 I get a great software and hardware setup.  I think the controller really makes it.  Freedom from the keyboard is great.

Look for us at Grey Fox Bluegrass in the pre-festival Foxhole.  We'll have a large tent with performance space in front of a 10' (maybe 15' by then) rear projection.  Also we are on the bill for Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights at Phanphest 4.0 running an all-night audio-visual extravaganza!

I am glad to answer any questions.

My Rig: Brian Moore i2.13 > Guitar Rig 4 and Roland GR-09 > Ableton Live 8 Suite > Alesis  MasterControl > Little Dot 1+ > Allesandro MS-1 Headphones > My Head > My Soul

MotorBongo

Hi,

I realize this package is pretty obsolete now, and this thread is pretty old as well, but let me try.

I ran into an 'as new' Edirol Motion Dive .Tokyo package (the MD-P1 controller & the MD software).