Gp 10 and iPad good enough to replace GR 55

Started by romero, February 05, 2017, 05:52:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

romero

Hey all. Any Gr 55/Gp 10 owners using iPad with their Gp 10? Just curious if you think it can replace the Gr 55 for synths. I have been using Gr55 for 5 years now, and have acquired a Gp 10 last year I really like many things about it better than the GR55, but I would still like to have some synth access, I own a iPad Air 2, so it would be rather easy, my other option would be a Mac mini but I would prefer not to go that route (this would be my portable live setup)

sixeight

You will need a midx10,  a USB Midi cable and a camera connection kit to make the connection from the GP10 to the iPad.  A Mac mini is much more straightforward.

Jim Williams

QuoteYou will need a midx10,  a USB Midi cable and a camera connection kit to make the connection from the GP10 to the iPad.
I agree, the only problem is how to change pitch bend messages(chromatic on/off) from song to song or mono to polly settings.

Everything from modeling to the real deal, my house looks like a music store.

alexmcginness

Also, there are alternate tuning anomalies in the GP-10 that don't happen with the GR-55.  If you can live without alternate guitar tunings, Bobs youre Uncle.
VG-88V2, GR-50, GR-55, 4 X VG-99s,2 X FC-300,  2 X GP-10 AXON AX 100 MKII, FISHMAN TRIPLE PLAY,MIDX-10, MIDX-20, AVID 11 RACK, BEHRINGER FCB 1010, LIVID GUITAR WING, ROLAND US-20, 3 X GUYATONE TO-2. MARSHALL BLUESBREAKER, SERBIAN ELIMINATOR AMP. GR-33.

Chumly

You can run 1/4" guitar into an iPad (via an interface), then to the iOS app MIDI Guitar 2, and then to any number of iOS synths and/or sample-players such as iSymphonic, M3000 Ultimate, SampleTank, Synthmaster Player, plus any number of audio processing apps, guitar amp modelers, DAW's, etc. The whole shebang is smaller, cheaper and more portable than an equivalent number of Mac apps, plus Mac, plus adjunct hardware.