OSX Native AVB Question

Started by autodidactic, September 23, 2015, 06:33:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

autodidactic

Has anybody tried the native AVB implementation in OSX? I was wondering if it was possible to use 2 macs on the same wired LAN as AVB end points. Specifically, to have my macbook (with USB interface) be able to pass the audio to my desktop mac in another room. I'd try this myself but my macbook has Snow Leopard installed, and wanted to know if it would be worth the effort and expense of wiping it and installing Lion.
1965 Gibson J45
1979 Gibson ES347
90's Epiphone Joe Pass
80's Yamaha Classical
Bouzouki by Dekavalas

autodidactic

DISCLAIMER: I am not an AVB expert. I'm just some muso that likes to tinker with computers so please take anything I post about AVB with a grain of salt. Also, please correct anything I post here and I will happily edit my post. If the thread takes off I'll consolidate the info into the first post of this thread.

Ok, so I went down the AVB rabbit hole. This is what I've found out so far.

HARDWARE:
With regards to OSX, it does have native AVB support IF you have the right hardware. AVB is an extension of the ethernet spec and all the extra stuff relies on certain hardware capabilities of the NIC (Network Interface Card). In general what you will need for an AVB capable LAN are:

• compatible bridges (aka switches)
  • compatible talkers (send)
  • compatible listeners (receive)

BRIDGES AKA SWITCHES:
If you want to turn your existing LAN (including the consumer devices on it) into an AVB network, you will need a bridge. However AVB also supports daisy chaining so depending on your setup (basically everything in the chain is AVB compatible), you might be able to do without a bridge.

COMPUTERS: