Rockin' the suburbs

Started by Beeboos, December 09, 2014, 10:50:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beeboos

Greetings, guitar bretheren...
  Part time lurker & first time poster here. First, let me say that you guys are WAY smarter than I will ever be about guitar synths.

I'm an old school rock guitarist that plays in a local cover band. I've basically played most of my life through a Marshall 1/2 stack and a tube screamer. Maybe a couple of other stomp boxes for delay effects. I like to keep it simple. I eventually picked up a Boss GT-10 effects processor about 6 years ago because of flexibility and compact setup for live gigs. More recently I bought a GR-55. I got the synth for home recording. I've got a Roland VS-2400 CD home studio. I've taught myself various instruments over the years and I enjoy writing songs that nobody will ever hear in a little room I like to call my "studio".  ;)

I'm blown away by the depth of knowledge that the people in this forum have on guitar equipment. I've never been a gear head, so to speak. So thank you for sharing your knowledge. It's much appreciated.

If you would indulge me I could use some guidance on these topics...

1) Inputting guitar into tablature software. Can I run straight out of my GR-55 into <insert software or solution of your choice here> and just play? What are my options? I'm basically trying to capture ideas somewhat spontaneously instead of writing them out on a napkin with lines drawn on it, which is my current high tech method.

2) Some of my GR-55 synth patches have a noticeable delay before they activate. I've used the synth a couple of times live and I really get a kick out it. However, certain patches (all stock from the factory) have a slight lag before they engage, unlike the immediate response of a stomp box. This results in an awkward look from the bassist live. *&^%$#@ bassists! I'm sure it's something simple and your smacking your head, but hey, did I mention I'm not a gear head?  ;)