FTP in Logic 9

Started by sunbambino, November 23, 2013, 03:37:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sunbambino

Be so interested to have some views from this board re running FTP in Logic 9.

When I started using the plug in Logic I instantiated it via an Instrument slot. Then I noticed certain functions (like layering two sounds across the whole fretboard) weren't working so I contacted Fishman and they told me to call up FTP not via AU Instruments (Tripleplay) but via AU Midi-controlled Effects (TripleplayFX).

This solved the layering problem.

Is this the way you peeps are rigging FTP?

sunbambino

Bad info I'm sorry to say. I am new to this controller, love it to bits, so much to learn :-[

I cannot get FTP to layer at all in Logic 9, instantiated either as Instrument or Midi-controlled Effect (as recommended by Fishman)

However, layering does function perfectly in Logic X and FTP seems to work as an Instrument, which is gr8.

Anyone got any tips for Logic users?

Does FTP run at its best in the sequencing package that came in the s/ware bundle, I forget its name.

sunbambino

Reason I'm so keen to have FTP layer inside Logic/Mainstage instead of running it Standalone is because of the lack of effects in FTP as it stands, Fishman techs agree that the mixer section really needs slots for FX inserts and maybe a way of adding FX to the entire trad/synth patch. Something for the future?

So using FTP live I'll be running it through Mainstage 3 I reckon.

Haven't yet fully explored the details of midi-recording a layer in Logic X. I suppose the simplest way, not ideal, would be to bounce in place the layered part and un-instantiate FTP so as to move on. Or freeze it?

Anyway, seems like a bit of a monologue at the mo so I'll abandon this thread, if no-one has any light to shed, comments?

shawnb

I don't use Logic, I I use SONAR, so I'm not sure what the best thing to do inside Logic is...