Triple Play vs Roland GK3 vs ZTAR

Started by macnylonguitar, January 27, 2016, 10:16:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

macnylonguitar

Hello fellow MID guitarists,

I got into MIDI guitar back in the 80's at Western Connecticut State U where I studied guitar. I was exposed to most of them: The original Roland (Andy Summers, that had an actual guitar not just a pedal board), Roland GR series, Ibanez (weird stabilizer bar), Yamaha G10, some other company using lasers working with Gibson I think. They all were lacking, ie, they sucked.

I actually played a Casio toy with plastic strings, and oddly this was one of the best at tracking, by a lot.

Of course it did not actually track / pitch to midi convert anything, it was mechanically pulling the strings.

The tracking is rarely spot on, and it was not a question of if, but when you would get a midi glitch.

I then got an Axon in the mid 1990's and that was the best of the worst, playable for gigs. I was using my Godin multiac nylon going into the Axon.

The Axon was the best of all of these, but still not quite there.

I find it almost on the brink of ludicrous that the industry cannot make a midi guitar in today's technology landscape that is instantaneous tracking, practically zero latency.

But I get it, it's a business and you have to have demand for a product and also the people with the vision and engineering.

I was an engineer at Apple in 2001-2003, if they wanted to, it could be done, with today's processors, algorithms, analysis, etc. This could all be in real time.

Whether it is via pitch to midi conversion, or direct contact, we could have latency of 2 ms to zero.

So I am on my quest, wanting to get back into this big time, and looking for where to spend my money, WISELY.