VG-99 - Guitar to MIDI - Expanding my horizons.

Started by rcknrllmn, April 29, 2009, 07:22:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rcknrllmn

I've been using COSM technology for several years now from the GX-700, to the GT-5, GS-10, GT-PRO,
and now the VG-99.  Up to this point I have only used the VG-99 for my guitar rig.  I would like to start
using it for more for synth/midi stuff also.

I would like to start off by getting a relatively inexpensive, small portable hardware synth to use.

I am considering one of these three things.
  Dave Smith Mopho,
  Alesis Micro,
  MicroKORG.

Can anyone with experience with these weigh in on which I might get the most milage with the VG-99.

Thanks
Tom

Brent Flash

None of the models you mention would be my first choice.

The features I look for when thinking of Guitar to MIDI sound sources are:
1. Combination Mode or Multi-timbral mode. When using MONO MODE in the VG-99's Guitar to MIDI section, you want a keyboard that can produce sounds on more than one MIDI Channel at the same time.  The reason for this is in MONO MODE the VG-99 sends each string on a separate MIDI channel. This lets you bend a string while playing other strings and only the string you are bending will bend on the keyboard.
2. The keyboard should be polyphonic. This is so you can play more than one note. Monophonic will only play a single note.
3. And use sampled sounds. This is a keyboard that plays digital recordings of a real instrument to create the sounds it plays. Most keyboards work this way these days.

rcknrllmn

Is there a decent old sound module I can look for on ebay that would have these features.

I really don't care to start lugging a 61 key keyboard around with me.  I also
do not want to spend a lot of money on something I'm just starting to experiment with.
I don't want to get into the expense of a laptop with all the software either.

Thanks

Brent Flash