Another new member, hi and questions

Started by luthierwnc, July 13, 2014, 04:29:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

luthierwnc

Hi All,

I am working on an ergonomic guitar for myself and am relatively new to this technology.  As a newb I'll apologize in advance for protocol breaches and try to get right into the topics.  I have done a lot of research but there comes a point where it helps for someone to say, "Here's what I'd do."

To start with, I've been building guitars and amps for about 30 years.  That includes about one of everything although I've mostly built classical guitars and one-off solid-bodies.  I have built a couple instruments (one classical and one Steinberger-esque) where the buyers wanted RMC piezo saddles. The latter had an on-board preamp.  Both required some fairly precise machining.  Other than making sure they worked, I haven't played them myself.

I've actually got two ergos going.  One is a baritone that will have a pair of Alumitones.  The other is a short Martin scale that will have a pair of WCR humbuckers on the passive side.  That is the one I want the more advanced electronics for.  I began building them a couple years ago but starting a new business has absorbed all my time since.  With a little breathing room they are coming off the pegs in the shop.  If I can figure out how to post them, there will be two pics of the smaller one.  It is ready for final sanding but I purposely didn't drill or rout anything beyond a basic cavity until I got the electronics figured out.  Except for a central core about 3.5" wide the instrument is basically hollow so enlarging the cavity or adding others isn't a problem.