Triple Play, Roland Integra 7 and midi foot controller compatibility

Started by Eastwood, March 08, 2017, 08:48:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eastwood

Hello one and all.. newbie here Jon from UK.
I'm really very new to midi guitar but have recently got on the band wagon and realised that despite lots and lots of reading up and then realising I'm still lost.. I thought I would bite the bullet and ask the experts on here for some advise.

So I got a Fishman Triple Play, its nicely fitted into my Suhr Classic Pro S type and I don't appear to have any real issues with this so far. I got the pick up fitted well within the recommended Imm tolerenace and so far so good it works fine.

Coming from a world of midi guitar effects I've probably had them all at one time, so programming these in that past for mainly preset changes and the odd parameter tweak here and there never really caused me that many headaches. But I'm struggling with the concepts behind midi synth guitar rigs I guess.
Anyway I digress, going back to the FTP I messed about a little with the FTP app and patches and also a little with mainstage and I got reasonable results from both.
However having read some really interesting posts on here from guys using hard ware synths I was fascinated by what seemed the logical way for me to go... I never really felt comfortable with the thought of using VST's etc with Laptops and IPads for a live rig ( call me old fashioned if you want) but I always preferred the idea of a real instrument a piece of hardware if you like. So I pulled the trigger on Roland Integra 7, and the Fishman FC-1 foot controller and went about trying to set up some patches using the FTP in hardware mode ( mono ) so 6 midi channels one per string. Again this seemed to work ok although I did have a few problems along the way.