GR-55 - HEX Commands to Send Change Control Commands to GR-55

Started by tonygardner, September 19, 2016, 03:22:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tonygardner

Hi Everyone.

This is my first post to the VG forum, and have spent a bit of time reading all the various posts. From what I can tell, there are a LOT of very smart people hanging out here!

I've been using my GR-55 for several years now, before that it was a GR-33. I've always been somewhat of a techie musician.

I can successfully send CC commands to the GR-55 from any MIDI controller, but I recently started using a very cool iPad app (BandHelper from Arlo Media), and it allows me to setup MIDI buttons superimposed over my chord chart. BTW, I can successfully do Program Changes, but didn't really want to create a program for every variation!

So, in order to do this, I just need to know the right HEX commands to send to the GR-55. For example, if I have the GR-55 set to MIDI channel 5, and I've setup one of my eight assigns to toggle PCM1 via CC#21, how would I do that? From everything I've learned so far (on other forums), I'm leaning towards something along the lines of "0B 05 15 01" (where 0B is the MIDI.org standard for initiating a control command, 05 is the MIDI channel, 15 is the HEX equivalent for 21 and 01 is the data value). Of course, once I figure this out, I'll be able to toggle AMP, MOD, MFX, PCM1, PCM2, COSM, P/U, Delay, Reverb, and so on!

I've looked in the GR-55 manual, but it doesn't have much in the way of MIDI specs, so I thought I would check in here.

Thanks In Advance!
Tony G.

Elantric

Read the detailed thread on the similar Arlo Media SetListmaker to control GR-55

GR-55 and iPad (Setlist Maker)
https://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=9090.msg81483#msg81483

QuoteI'll be able to toggle AMP, MOD, MFX, PCM1, PCM2, COSM, P/U, Delay, Reverb, and so on