FC-300 makes no sense to me.

Started by ebass4life, December 01, 2009, 03:58:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ebass4life

I am very new to midi.  I bought a Vb-99 about 2 months ago.  I absolutely love it.  I only use it for live sound.  To my suprise, I have been able to figure out how to do almost everything I want it to do.  Then I got the FC-300.  I am so lost.  The instructions seem like they are in a different language to me.  The only things I can figure out is how to work the tuner and how to switch patches.  So I have a couple questions that I think will be easy to most.

1.  I have channel A & B coming out of seperate speakers.  I would like to be able to turn them on and off so I can have them running 1 at a time or both at the same time.  Can I do this with the FC-300?  I have been doing this with volume pedals but I would like to use the FC-300.

2.  Can I turn effects like chorus or distortion on and off with the FC-300 without switching the patch?

3.  I would really like to understand this stuff without constintly posting questions.  Where is a good place to start?  Is there a "midi for dummies" book or something like that?

I apologize if these questions have been asked and I didn't see the post.  I am very grateful for any help.

Thanks.

Brent Flash

I'll see if I can help you out.

The first thing I want to say is don't worry about learning MIDI just yet. All you need to do is keep the FC-300 in SYXEX mode and things will be much easier.

Next learn how to assign controllers in the VB editor. Are you using the editor yet? If not you need to get that going.

Once you get the editor going you will assign the FC-300 switches and pedals to what you want to control. You don't need to know CC# as long as you keep it in SYSEX mode.