GP-10 Rotary Effect. Is it good? Am I missing something?

Started by sbjkd, August 01, 2016, 08:02:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sbjkd

Hi everybody.

Does anybody have a good Rotary speaker patch, or any advice on how to get a good sound from the Rotary effect?

So far, it is underwhelming, but that might be because I'm a complete Noob.

Cheers,
Stephen

Rhcole

I just saw this post.
The rotary in the GP-10 is not very good. I had the same reaction as you. Sorry.

Elantric

QuoteThe rotary in the GP-10 is not very good. I had the same reaction as you. Sorry.
Agreed - Ive never heard a Roland / Boss Rotary effect that topped the old Korg G4's  - which had a Leslie emulation that is far more supreme compared to any example from a Roland / Boss unit.

i hold same opinion of Roland Reverbs ( weak) 

Trivia  - if you have spare room in the studio  - locate a gently used korg 168RC  - These Korg digital Adat digital consoles were over $2K when new in 1995 and still used by many big name Film /Gaming soundtrack creators due to its clean audio and it includes  MIDI controllable Korg stereo FX - including the same Korg G4 DSP Rotary speaker algorithm  - and can be located for $200 used today   
http://www.ebay.com/itm/KORG-168RC-SOUNDLINK-DRS-RECORDING-CONSOLE-DIGITAL-MULTI-TRACK-RECORDER-/231899280520?hash=item35fe463488:g:9acAAOSwUdlWg0fH

Other trivia  - the Korg R&D DSP FX algorithms have been re-used in lots of gear for past 20 years from Korg, Yamaha, Vox, Blackstar

But check out Bill Rupperts EHX "Lester G" or "Lester K"  - never heard a Roland box that can duplicate the EHX Lester's  rich cream & grind (warning - lock away your Bank card before listening to clip below - as it is known to cause a severe G.A.S. attack)

carlb

It could definitely use more control over parameters. Rolls-off too much treble, in my opinion. I think the effect designers listened to one "classic" recording, and decided minimalist was adequate.
ES Les Paul, internal Roland GK