VG-99 Linux Drivers

Started by op111, September 01, 2008, 07:54:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

op111

Sorry if I caused undue excitement  ;)

I am in the process of finally giving up on Vista and moving all my Audio tools to Linux.  So far all the open source drivers and tools seem great... except for a lack of driver for the VG-99.

I am software engineer by profession, so I can fix this.  I was thinking of writing some ALSA drivers.  Does anyone out there have documentation on how to talk to a 99?  Roland, are out there?

P

Kostas Greece

I also want to give up from XP and Vista and I want to install linux. It could be great If you create a driver for linux!
Fender American Lone Star Strat (HSS+floyd rose), Roland VG-99, FC-300, Roland GR-20

op111

I've been trying Ardour http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ardour_(audio_processor) and the ALSA driver for my Edirol UA-25.

So far, so good.  Much less painful than trying to get CakeWalk and the UA-25 talk reliably on Vista.

Anyone else out there do their audio work on Linux?

kloniwotski

I normally use a UA25 into 64Studio linux.

Just out of curiosity, I attached the VG-99 usb to my linux box, having already loaded the alsa usb-snd driver. In the factory default of advanced USB mode, no dice: the VG-99 quickly flashed up a "usb disconnected" notice on its screen.

But having switched to standard mode via the system->usb page, and restarting the VG-99, it apprarently worked fine.

You only get 16 bits at 44.1k, but I was able to start jackd and record and playback with ardour.

If you're interested, I used the jackd command:

/usr/bin/jackd -c -s -R -dalsa -dhw:3 -r44100 -p128 -n3

(the VG-99 reported as card 3 (id VG-99!) in /proc/asound/cards, hence the dhw:3 part)

and my (rather old) kernel reports itself as

linux 64studio 2.6.21-1-multimedia-amd64