FTP - Help me with my FTP MainStage setup...

Started by multivir, September 02, 2013, 08:10:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

multivir

Hi,

So I've been experimenting with my FTP for a few days now. Currently it seems that Apple's MainStage seems to be the way to go if you want to use FTP in a live setup.
Here's what I want to do: Lay down some synth pad chords / atmospheric sounds, have them ring out (or loop them) and play with my Kemper on top of that sound - without the synth adding more notes to what was played in the "first round".

I'm new to MainStage, so maybe some of the more experienced members can chime in on the concepts...

- I noticed that CC 64 (IIRC) is usually the sustain pedal. Is there a different way to do an "ifinite hold" than just sustain or is that (generally) the same thing?

- What's the approach to set up a patch that does what I describe above? Currently, when I turn down the volume of the synth (to play on top of a ringing synth pad chord), the chord will also go away. Makes sense, but I only want to suppress the pad sound created by my noodeling, while the pad I set to noodle over should still remain.

How do I do that? Multiple tracks in the same setup? Switch from one to the other? Do you guys set the volume on the guitar (f.e. pickup volume knob up / FTP volume knob down) or leave both open and use MainStage as a midi-controllable mixer?