VG-99 FX - creating an Edge-style delay?

Started by karma1, June 28, 2009, 03:46:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

karma1

Does anybody have any settings or advice on how to create a classic 80's Edge style delay (U2)?
Something like "Where The Streets Have No Name". I believe it requires two delays at different settings, but not sure what they are. Are there any presets on the VG99 that already have that kind of sound? If so I haven't come across them, but I'm still pretty new with the unit. Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

sixeight

I made a few Edge patches the other day. The one with the Hi-pad is inspired by the next video:

billabong17

Just come across these patches. Great job!

aliensporebomb

The video shows the shimmer effect that is pretty popular in about a million youtube videos.

The VG can do it but there are two effects paths involved:
Path A:  Compressor, clean tone guitar, chorus and delay for the straight guitar sound.
That's pretty easy - you can use whatever pickup or guitar type you want.  If you want U2 well, pick a guitar type, maybe
single coil pickup and choose an AC30 for the amp type.

B:  Here's where it gets complicated:  compressor/harmonizer/delay/plate reverb
The harmonizer/delay works by treating each note by harmonizing the delay an octave higher than the original note, then the next
delay is two octaves higher, the next is three and after that plate reverb.  It makes the sound constantly shift which is what creates the swelling. 

See this link to hear one of the engineers on the actual record talk about how Eno came up with that sound:
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/q-kevin-killen/107676-u2-shimmer-effect-4th-july.html

See below for my take on the shimmer on the VG-99:
My music projects online at http://www.aliensporebomb.com/

GK Devices:  Roland VG-99, Boss GP-10, Boss SY-1000.

fbwh

Hey thanx sixeight,