GR-55 vs ???

Started by swarfrat, August 19, 2014, 08:11:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

swarfrat

I've currently got a Graphtech Ghost setup, and a Yamaha G-50. These don't work together. I'd been planning to just pick up a GK-3 at some point once it fits in the priorities. But I'm now wondering - should I consider a GR-55 instead? How are the synth sounds? I'm primarily interested in MIDI, and especially interested in some GOOD horns. Like mapping out horn parts on the guitar.  The video I heard, the GR-55 didn't really enthuse me a lot in the horn department, but I realized with the G-50 I'd still need sounds, and I'm reluctant to lug a PC for soft synths.  There is some merit in staying with the Graphtec, at least emotionally, as I've already carved up a guitar for the 13 pin jack some time ago, and I have them already.

What's the best route forward from here?
Ghost->GR-55?
GK-3->G-50->sound module?
GK-3->GR-55?

clearlight

Hi,
I'm no expert but i think the gr55 has a setting that would match the ghost.
I have a few guitars with piezo and they work great.

As far as GOOD horns go.....the gr55 is bread and butter , at least the presets.
I think the horns are eh.....but most smapled or modeled horns are eh in my opinion. just a complicated sound to reproduce.
That being said, the gr55 might be passable for the situation.

good luck
My Music
My Band Website
GUITARS: 2x RG1521, 3x RG321 w/gk, Rg721 Fretless Modified, AmStd FatStrat w/gk, various others....
XV5050,Triton etc..
KOMPLETE 7
VGUITAR Stuff: VG99, FC300, RC5-

Rhcole

The GR-55 will work fine with your guitar. I have a Carvin SH-575 with the GraphTech and it worked well through the GR-55 (I sold mine a few months ago). However, some piezo guitars have subsonic rumble that can affect tracking, but there are filters for that.