Greetings from the Twin Cities!

Started by bloodbrother, March 21, 2015, 07:11:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bloodbrother

Hello everyone!

I joined this forum last November, and I have been loyally following it ever since. This is by far the best resource for people who love electronic stringed instrument gear. There are so many brilliant and creative people interacting on this forum, and I am so appreciative of all the valuable information that everyone provides.

I work as a luthier, product designer, and a musician. I have worked for stringed instrument companies in various design, construction, and management capacities over the last ten years, but most recently I have been doing more freelance design and instrument repair. I also perform as a one man band called Blood Brother, in which I use everything from a completely acoustic rig to an entirely MIDI one, and everything in between.

As a luthier, much of my work has been with banjos, and I have always been interested in new ways to amplify and modify their sound. My experimentation really got started when a customer approached me requesting a quintaphonic pickup and 13 pin jack for his 5 string banjo. I had read about people installing a GK pickup on the banjo head before, but this guy didn't want his banjo to appear to have had much modification.