Katana - Should I get a Katana 50 or a Katana 100?

Started by DugT, July 27, 2017, 09:26:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DugT

Should I get a Katana 50 or a Katana 100? I know this question has been asked a lot but I'm special! :-) I'm especially naive because this will be my first amp and I have other excuses too.

I just got my first electric guitar and now I need an amp. I've been playing acoustic guitars for 40 years and I'm ready for a change. Paying another $130 for a 100W doesn't bother me at all if I will use the additional features. The Loop utility seems especially interesting. I would think people who play in bands would be less likely to need loop but solo guitar players like me and band players practicing at home are more likely to want it. Therefore it makes a lot of sense for the 50w to have loop but it doesn't. I will never play in a band and I will never take the amp out of my living room so the extra weight doesn't matter to me as much as tone quality and features. I will almost always use the .5W setting but if I do crank it up, the next step with the 100W is the 50W setting. The 50W amp has a mid-level of 25W which might be more practical for me. I don't know. So, that is my first concern.

It seems like a lot of people buy the 50w Katana because they already have a big amp for bigger venues and they want an amp for small venues and practicing. I just want a good amp for me in my biggish living room. Should I get the 100w? Would a 50w be better and then I should get a Looper pedal?

My new guitar is an Ibanez AR720. I've always played soft rock and classical music. With this new guitar I hope to delve into chording with some lead and lead over loops.

Thanks for any advice.

admin

Since you are new - you are confused about the "Katana FX loop" found only on the 100 watt models